Ross on Wye Town Council
Coat of Arms
Quick links
The Mayor
The word Mayor derives from the Latin 'major' meaning
'in chief'. In England, the Mayor is the modern descendant of the feudal lord's bailiff. The Municipal Corporations Act of 1882 regulated the election of a Mayor, who was to be a fit person elected annually by the council from among its members. In the nineteenth century there were mayors of Ross including Nathanial Morgan. Later, notable chairmen of Ross Urban Council have included John Hart and James Metcalfe.
The first Town Mayor of Ross was elected in 1974 following the reorganisation of Local Government as a result of the Local Government Act of 1972 when Ross Town Council was formed. A list of past Mayors can be viewed here.
Today the Town Mayor is elected at the Annual Meeting of the Town Council in May, and is expected to devote much of his time to civic, ceremonial, and representational functions, and to preside over meetings which have for their object the advancement of the public welfare. He or she also acts as chairman of the meetings of the council.
The Mayor chooses a Mayoress or Consort who accompanies him or her at functions and the Council also elects a Deputy Mayor to stand in for the Mayor in case of illness or unavailability.

MAYOR 2019-20
Councillor Jane Roberts was elected Mayor by her fellow councillors.
The Deputy Mayor for the year is Councillor Daniel Lister.
Each Mayor chooses a charity or project to support during his or her term of office. Councillor Roberts has chosen to support the Ross Community Development Trust during her term of office. It aims to reduce loneliness by a good neighbour.
The Mayor attends meetings and events both in the town and as a representative of the town elsewhere. A current list of events can be viewed.

If you or your organisation would like to invite the Mayor to a function or meeting you can complete and submit the online form or download a pdf form and return it to the Office Administrator.